Veritatis quibusdam

Palace of Pena: visit by time slots only; verify the entrance date and time on your ticket; there is no delay tolerance. Learn more

Cosmopolitanism of the Portuguese Baroque - Cultural Ties between Italy and Portugal

LD 9297


Throne Room of the National Palace of Queluz


26th of June of 2021




[email protected]; 

+351 21 923 73 00

After being broadcast online, to mark the International Day of Ancient Music, Parques de Sintra once again presents an exceptional concert by Divino Sospiro, now live.


The concert will take place in the Throne Room of the National Palace of Queluz and focuses on the 18th century, a period of great musical vitality in Portugal. At this time, the constant dialogue with Italian trends influenced Portuguese composers, who absorbed and adapted them to the local context and their own inspiration. The repertoire of this concert invites you to a journey through the splendour of baroque music, through works by Pedro Antonio Avondano, Francisco António de Almeida, Carlos Seixas, Vivaldi and Domenico Scarlatti.


Carlos Seixas (1704-1762)

Sonata in G minor, K.49

  • Allegro 
  • Adagio - Andantino - Amoroso 
  • Allegro assai


Francisco António de Almeida (1702-1755?)

Cantata "A quel leggiadro volto", for soprano, violins and basso continuo

  • Recitative - "A quel leggiadro volto"
  • Aria - "Lascia per un momento"
  • Recitative - "Torni alle meste luci"
  • Aria - Da nembi e da procelle


Pedro António Avondando (1714-1782)

Aria "Ah, se ho da vivere", from the oratory "Gioas, Re di Giuda"


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)

Sonata in D minor, Op.1/12 Rv 63, "La Folia"


Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

Cantata "O qual meco Nice cangiata", for soprano, violins and basso continuo 

  • Introduzione alla cantata: Allegrissimo – Cantabile Andante – Allegro
  • Recitative – "O qual meco Nice cangiata"
  • Aria – "Perché non dirmi almeno"
  • Recitative – "Di’, rispondi spietata"
  • Aria – "Dire non voglio tanto"


Price List

15 €

Age guidance of 6+


  • Eduarda Melo (soprano)
  • DIVINO SOSPIRO: Iskrena Yordanova (violin I), Nuno Mendes (violin I), Elisa Bestetti (violin II), Raquel Cravino (violin II), Fernando Santiago (cello), Pedro Wallenstein (double bass), Giovanni Bellini (teorba), José Carlos Araújo (harpsichord/organ)
  • Massimo Mazzeo (dir. and viola)


  • Parques de Sintra
  • Divino Sospiro


  • Directorate-General for the Arts
  • Italy Embassy
  • Italian Institute of Culture


  • For safety reasons, in this show the places are separated.
  • Seats are assigned in order of arrival, from the ones available in the row closest to the stage, to those closest to the exit of the room.
  • After the start of the show, entries in the room are not allowed.
  • The ticket value will not be refunded in case of non-attendance or delay.

COVID-19 Safety Measures

  • Hand hygiene before entering the room
  • Mandatory use of mask, on access and during the show
  • Allocated places. Do not occupy blocked seats
  • Always keep the minimum safety distance
  • Respect the room assistants' instructions
  • At the end of the show, remain seated until the room assistants give directions.