Palace of Pena: visit by time slots only; verify the entrance date and time on your ticket; there is no delay tolerance. Learn more

200 years of “Don Giovanni” in Brazil – The first performance of the “opera of all operas” outside Europe

18 Setembro Dgiovanni 07


National Palace of Queluz - Throne Room


18 September 2021



Age guidance


This concert is part of the celebration of the 200th anniversary of the first performance, in Brazil, of one of the most important artistic creations of Humanity: the opera “Don Giovanni” by W.A. Mozart, presented in Rio de Janeiro on September 20, 1821.


The program includes two masses for string orchestra and choir: Mozart's Missa Brevis, in F Major, and the modern world premiere of a mass by Sigismund von Neukomm. This Austrian composer, born in Salzburg, worked in Rio de Janeiro under the Portuguese regency of Brazil, with D. Pedro IV, and contributed greatly to the introduction of Mozart's music to the South American continent.


Produced by Parques de Sintra and Divino Sospiro, this concert is performed in collaboration with the Mozarteum in Salzburg, the Música Brasilis Institute in Rio de Janeiro, the Don Juan Archiv center in Vienna and the Fundação da Casa de Mateus, and will be part of an online event on September 20, which will include the streaming of a concert from Vienna and contributions from all countries involved.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Missa Brevis in F Major, KV 192

  • Kyrie
  • Gloria
  • Credo
  • Sanctus
  • Benedictus
  • Agnus Dei


Sigismund Neukomm (1778-1858)

Missa sub titulo Sancti Johannis / Messe de St. Jean (modern world premiere)

  • Kyrie
  • Gloria
  • Credo
  • Sanctus
  • Benedictus
  • Agnus Dei



  • Violins: Iskrena Yordanova, Paolo Perrone, Gabriele Politi, Elisa Bestetti, Raquel Cravino, Enrico Gramigna
  • Cellos: Rebeca Ferri; Fernando S. Garcia
  • Bass: Pedro Wallenstein
  • Organ: Sérgio Silva



  • Sopranos: Solange Anorga, Sara Afonso, Susana Duarte
  • Altos: Maria Gil, Joana Fonseca, Arthur Filemon
  • Tenors: Márcio Soares Holanda, João Pedro Afonso, João de Barros
  • Basses: Rui Bôrras, Pedro Morgado, Luís Neiva



  • Massimo Mazzeo
  • Ricardo Bernardes


15 €


  • Parques de Sintra
  • Divino Sospiro


  • Directorate-General for the Arts
  • Programme Garantir Cultura (supports the Americantiga Ensemble)

Media Partner

Antena 2


  • For safety reasons, in this show the places are separated.
  • Seats are assigned in order of arrival, from the ones available in the row closest to the stage, to those closest to the exit of the room.
  • After the start of the show, entries in the room are not allowed.
  • The ticket value will not be refunded in case of non-attendance or delay.
  • Opening of doors from 20:30.

COVID-19 Safety Measures

  • Hand hygiene before entering the room
  • Mandatory use of mask, on access and during the show
  • Allocated places. Do not occupy blocked seats
  • Always keep the minimum safety distance
  • Respect the room assistants' instructions
  • At the end of the show, remain seated until the room assistants give directions.